Latest news:

The COML Message Board

The place for discussion, debate and nonsense about Bath Rugby.

Join our new Facebook Group today!

New visitors please read the house rules before posting

Test your prognostications at our Prediction League

Waist High Tackling for RWC 2023?
Discussion started by Mike the Taxi (IP Logged), 08 August, 2019 18:16
Mike the Taxi
Mike the Taxi
08 August, 2019 18:16
[www.bbc.co.uk] BeeB

MESSAGES->author
Clarkey3k
08 August, 2019 19:22
It's a yes to this move from me and whilst we're at it the ball carrier and the tackler should be regarded as "out of the game" and roll away once they hit the ground leaving it to supporting players to compete for the ball. It was like this when I started playing [1971/72] and the game was better for it imho...

Adopted players: 2018/19 Michael Van Vuuren; [18] T Faletau; [17] D Denton; [16] H. Agulla; [15] L Houston; [14] W Spencer; [13] F. Louw

Change a life with a loan [www.deki.org.uk]

MESSAGES->author
joethefanatic
08 August, 2019 20:17
The only thing that bothers me is that the 2nd hardest part of the human body is the hip and there are two of them. If the intent is to reduce concussions, this might not work. But it will increase offloads, leading to many more tries (hooray)

Also, from the Beeb;

What else is in the laws trials?
A basketball-style team foul limit that sees the final player to infringe given a yellow card as their team reaches the specific number of penalty or free-kick limit. YES

A 50:22 kick giving a team put-in to the line-out if they kick into touch indirectly (ie on the bounce) when kicking either from their own half into the opposition 22m or from inside their own 22m to the opposition half. The law aims to force wingers to drop deep out of the defensive line, creating space for the attacker to run the ball. NO