rugbyunion
Latest News:

London Irish...
26 November, 2017 17:31
Hi all,

I’ve been supporting London Irish for over 14 years now. Just under two years ago, I signed up to ‘The Craic’, so I could discuss my thoughts of the game with the select few that really cared for the club. Truth be told, being a member on this website is far better than supporting the actual team as current results are rather poor…

At the end of 15/16, the inevitable happened – Premiership relegation. Arguably, we were worse during that season then we are now, but with 11 teams obviously stronger than us we all had to accept relegation. Having been through the sometimes amazing and other times shocking experience of the semi-professional Championship league, a return to the Premiership was what we all thought could be the start of a new era for London Irish.

This season has been very frustrating; the ecstasy that comes with big wins over Stade and Quins have been overruled by the thumping’s by Exeter, Sale and Edinburgh. The worst results for the Irish fans, however, have come in the last few weeks:

• Irish 27-28 Tigers
• Irish 22-26 Bath
• Irish 18-22 Bath
• Irish 13-17 Wasps

The thread ‘Why do we all get so frustrated?’ demonstrated the feelings of everyone who really cares about this club, but we all know that London Irish don’t listen. It’s becoming more and more obvious that relegation for a second time will likely lead to 1) moving out of Reading, 2) losing all the fans and 3) possibility of doing a London Welsh. Another club steeped in history that has been backed by so many fans and sponsors going defunct would surely be a disaster for not only everyone associated, but Premiership Rugby too.

What can we do though? We moan after every match about the game but nothing ever changes. We could organise a protest against the club or write a thousand letters to Premiership Rugby begging that relegation is discontinued, but it just feels like our opinion doesn’t matter.