rugbyunion
Latest News:

Quinssa WebsiteQuins News from News NowQuins Official Site

Welsh disallowed try
Keith Jenner (IP Logged)
10 February, 2018 19:15
Hoping someone can help with an argument I have been happening.

I didn’t think that the Welsh disallowed try should have been given because it really wasn’t clear who actually grounded it out of Antony Watson and the welsh player. If anything, I’d have given it to Watson as he seemed to have two hands on the ball rather than the Welsh one hand.

I’m far from an expert on the details of the rules, but I noticed that in the commentary and analysis they completely disregarded Watson being there and concentrated totally on the Welsh grounding.

If the Welsh player touched it first and was still touching it when it hit the ground then does it matter whether someone else also touched it, perhaps with a better grip? I don’t know the answer, but was really surprised that Watson’s involvement seemed to be totally ignored. It should have been mentioned if only to explain that it wasn’t relevant, but it was almost as if nobody even noticed he was there.

The fact that the try wasn’t given leads me to believe that it was relevant, as I’m pretty sure the Welsh player did have contact when the ball hit the ground.

Can anyone enlighten me.

Re: Welsh disallowed try
talkshowhost86 (IP Logged)
10 February, 2018 19:19
The rule is (according to ITV) that the first person touching it over the line gets the try.

I'm therefore not sure how it wasn't a try.

Watson did well to get there to put doubt in the refs mind though.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/02/2018 19:20 by talkshowhost86.

Hellequin (IP Logged)
The only thing I can think of is if the TMO thought the welsh player pushed it forward rather than down or that his hand hid some previous downward contact from Watson.

blucherquin (IP Logged)
I don’t get it at all - was at game and haven’t heard any analysis but looked a clear try to me

Keith Jenner (IP Logged)