Marching On
NEWS: Teams Up: Aviva Premiership Saints v Worcester
By Happywifehappylife
May 4 2018

250 caps - true Saintsman

Northampton Saints legend Ben Foden will lead out the side on his 250th and final appearance for the Club on Saturday afternoon. The 32-year-old is one of a host of Saints stalwarts that will be pulling on the Black, Green and Gold jersey for the final time as Northampton host Worcester Warriors at Franklin’s Gardens. Final league positions will be on the line so Saints – who have beaten Warriors on three of the previous four meetings between the sides – have plenty of pride at stake in front of what will be a bumper Gardens crowd.

Interim head coach Alan Dickens and technical coaching consultant Alan Gaffney have made four changes from the side that ran Aviva Premiership semi-finalists Wasps so close last time out.

Foden skippers the team at fullback after shifting from the wing, with Tom Collins brought into the Saints’ starting XV for the first time since January to make his 50th appearance for the Club. George North remains on the other wing, but there are two further changes to Northampton’s back line as Nafi Tuitavake and James Grayson both start at outside centre and fly-half respectively. But in the pack there is only one change; Kieran Brookes makes his final appearance for the Club at tighthead prop, packing down with Alex Waller and Mikey Haywood in the front row. Stephen Myler, Campese Ma’afu and Charlie Clare will all also run out at Franklin’s Gardens for the final time in a Saints jersey, and will look to make an impact off the bench alongside the likes of Ahsee Tuala, Alex Mitchell, and David Ribbans – who returns from injury to join the replacements.

“I’ve seen these players as both a teammate and a coach and they’ve served Saints brilliantly in what is probably the most successful period in the history of the Club,” said Dickens. “The motivation to send the guys out on a high note has to come from within the players and we’ve spoken about that this week – hopefully we put on a performance to match the occasion.”

Kick off 4pm

15 Ben Foden (capt) 14 Tom Collins 13 Nafi Tuitavake 12 Piers Francis 11 George North 10 James Grayson 9 Cobus Reinach 1 Alex Waller 2 Mikey Haywood 3 Kieran Brookes 4 Api Ratuniyarawa 5 James Craig 6 Jamie Gibson 7 Teimana Harrison 8 Mitch Eadie Replacements: 16 Charlie Clare 17 Campese Ma’afu 18 Paul Hill 19 David Ribbans 20 Lewis Ludlam 21 Alex Mitchell 22 Stephen Myler 23 Ahsee Tuala

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell 14 Perry Humphreys 13 Ben Te’o 12 Will Butler 11 Josh Adams 10 Dorian Jones 9 Francois Hougaard 1 Ryan Bower 2 Jack Singleton 3 Nick Schonert 4 Anton Bresler 5 Darren Barry 6 Marco Mama 7 Sam Lewis 8 GJ van Velze (capt) Replacements: 16 Joe Taufete’e 17 Ethan Waller 18 Gareth Milasinovich 19 Andrew Kitchener 20 David Denton 21 Jonny Arr 22 Jamie Shillcock 23 Tom Howe