Latest News:

England team for Baa Baas 27May 2018

May 27 2018

England team to play the Barbarians for the Quilter Cup on Sunday 27th May at Twickenham Stadium (KO 3pm, live on Sky Sports Action).


George Ford (Leicester Tigers) and Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) will co-captain the England side again, having done so for last year’s fixture against the Barbarians and Samoa this season.

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) makes a return in an England shirt for the uncapped match, following a knee injury he picked up against Italy in this season’s NatWest 6 Nations. Mike Brown (Harlequins) will play on the left wing, with Elliot Daly (Wasps) wearing the number 15 jersey. Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), who made his England debut in Argentina last June, will partner uncapped Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby) in the midfield.


Robshaw will play in the backrow alongside Tom Curry (Sale Sharks) - who became the youngest player to start an international for England in 90 years against Argentina last year - and the former England U20 captain Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby). Dan Robson (Wasps) and Danny Cipriani (Wasps) are named on the bench for the first time under Jones.

This is a good young squad and their work ethic has been outstanding over the last two weeks," said Jones. "Their application to learn has been very good but they are very young at Test rugby level so this week’s match against the Barbarians is a fantastic opportunity for them to step up. “As last year Chris Robshaw and George Ford will co-captain the side. Their combined experience and expertise gives us the best captaincy level for the game. “We can’t wait to get back to Twickenham and get on the front foot, please the fans and play some good rugby.” Quilter Cup:



England side to play Barbarians

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps)

14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

13 Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby)

12 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)

11 Mike Brown (Harlequins)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)

2 Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)

3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

4 Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)

5 Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)

8 Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby)


16 George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers)

17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)

18 Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors)

19 Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks)

20 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

21 Dan Robson (Wasps)

22 Danny Cipriani (Wasps)

23 Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

England team for Baa Baas 27May 2018
Unofficial England Rugby Union (IP Logged)
27/05/2018 07:09
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing