Latest News:

Chiefs Squad 09/10


By Moorsman
June 29 2009

Exeter Chiefs squad members for season 2009/10.

Exeter Chiefs 
2009/10 Squad

Here is the list of players who make up the Exeter Chiefs 2009/10 squad. Looking back to the first season at Sandy Park we still have 16 players who were in the 2007/08 squad of about 40, with only 6 players leaving at season's end.  2008/09 saw the mass expansion of the squad to around the 50 mark. This season sees a mass exodus with 19 players leaving and 10 players joining. I've taken the names from those still shown on the 'Offy Site' plus the new signings announced.  Positions are those played as 1st choice but some players can cover several positions.

Member of 2007/08 squad
Member of 2008/09 squad
New signing 2009/10
Dual registration (Premiership club)

Front Row
Simon Alcott (25)
Sam Blythe (32)
Chris Budgen (36)
Nathan Catt (21) - Bath, Dual registered  
Neil Clark (27)  
Shane Kingsland (22)
Ben Moon (19)  
Riadhri Murphy - Leinster (21)
Saul Nelson (29)

Brett Sturgess (27)
Hoani Tui  - Calvisano (24)

Second Row
Chris Bentley (30)
Toby Freeman (22) - Birmingham & Solihull
Dave Gannon (27) - Southland Stags 
James Hanks (24)
Tommy Hayes (29) - First team Captain
Scott Hobson (21) -  Bath, Dual registered  
Sean Tomes(26) - Newport Gwent Dragons

Back Row
Richie Baxter  (31)
Jamie Fleming (20)
Tom Johnson (26)
Alan Miller (27) - Club Captain
Andy Miller (27)
James Scaysbrook (26) - Bath
Chad Slade (27)
Scrum Half
Richard Bolt (21)
Haydn Thomas (26) - Bristol
Clive Stuart-Smith (26)

Fly Half
Danny Gray (26)
Josh Matavesi (18) (Exeter Chiefs England Rugby Academy)
Gareth Steenson (25)

Tom Bedford (20) 
Matt Cornwell (24)
Nick Greenhalgh (19) Northampton Saints, Dual registered
Drew Locke (23) - Coventry
Paul McKenzie (25)
Bryan Rennie (24)
Michael Stupple (19) (Exeter Chiefs England Rugby Academy)
Mark Foster (25) - Gloucester
Matt Jess (25)
Nic Sestaret (28)

Full Back

Phil Dollman (24) - Newport Gwent Dragons
Steve Jones (27) - Edinburgh
Emyr Lewis (32)  

Sean Marsden (28)

The following players left in season 08/09

John Andress - Harlequins
Marshall Cormack - Taunton 
 Joe Horn-Smith - Sale 
Dan Parkes - Brixham coaching 
Toby Freeman - Birmingham 
Tom Skelding - Albion
Lewis Stevenson - Harlequins
Dan Tuohy - Ulster
Chris Cracknell - Bath 
Richie Pugh - Scarlets
Kevin Barrett - Saracens
Tony Yapp - Cornish All Blacks
Mark Fatialofa - France? 
Wade Kelly - Sicily
Josh Dauniniu - Harlequins
Ed Lewsey - Cornish All Blacks
Jason Luff - Cornish All Blacks
Ben Breeze - retired
Gary Kingdom - Albion 

last updated 23/01/2010


View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Unofficial Chiefs
Chiefs Squad 09/10
Unofficial Chiefs (IP Logged)
29/06/2009 23:06
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing

Exeter Chiefs Poll

New Poll Soon

See results > Submit >>