rugbyunion
Latest News:

Guess the attendance competition preview


We the few

By Almostatyke
August 22 2017

It seems only yesterday that Prince Harry was handing-over the solid gold cup to Leemingtyke at the 2017 Guess the Attendance Competition awards night in Cannes, but already a new season is here. There have been quite a few changes; no play-offs, viewing from the Carnegie stand only at Headingley and a distinct feeling of money being too tight to mention at the club. Nevertheless the Guess the Attendance Competition continues the same as ever, although I suspect we may be typing lower numbers.   

The rules are very simple, but I thought it worth just recapping them here to avoid misunderstandings:

· Only Headingley games are considered

· Guesses must be made no later than 20 minutes before kick-off time

· The guess nearest to the official attendance figure will receive three points, second closest two and third-closest one point. It doesn’t matter if you are higher or lower

· If anyone gets the exact number (I don’t recall this ever happening to date) then an Almo bonus of 2 points will be awarded, i.e. the winner will receive 5 points

· Please do not duplicate a previously posted number: if necessary priority will be given to the earlier poster

· If a decider is required at the end of the season, the closest in the last match will be the winner  

A few tips:

· You can use the date of a famous landmark (e.g. your house construction date)for inspiration

· Famous dates from history can be amusing

· Do not get too concerned about any discrepancies between the official attendance given and the number of people you count in the actual crowd

· Save some energy for the end of the season (sadly a well-known poster ran out of steam last year despite amassing a healthy lead at Christmas)

· Remember it is only a bit of fun (even in the York area)

· Don’t take too much notice of any advice from Almo as he is usually nowhere near the top of the table

  As I will be in France for our first home match against Doncaster, and not sure of having a WiFi connection, my early speculative guess of the official attendance is 1001 – cleans a big carpet for less than half a crown. Please post your more considered guesses below.

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

TykesRugby.co.uk
Guess the attendance competition preview
TykesRugby.co.uk (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 07:10
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.



Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 2017:09:05:05:20:31 by Wildwillie .

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Gues the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 07:24

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Gues the attendance competition preview
Albert Fishwick (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 07:25
1,381 (Peasants' Revolt).

And I still think the cut-off should be at least an hour before kick-off!

If I had all the money I've spent on drink ..... I'd spend it on drink.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Gues the attendance competition preview
Albert Fishwick (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 07:26
Quote:
Wildwillie
999

(Sm124)

Ah yes, the number of the Australian beast.

If I had all the money I've spent on drink ..... I'd spend it on drink.

 
yeldor
Re: Gues the attendance competition preview
yeldor (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 07:29
666.

sent off carried off never backed off

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
leemingtyke (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 09:12
"It seems only yesterday that Prince Harry was handing-over the solid gold cup to Leemingtyke at the 2017 Guess the Attendance Competition awards night in Cannes"

Must've been a good night, I can't remember a bloody thing about it!

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
leemingtyke (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 09:17
Erm...........


I also appear to have lost the trophy!

 
haxbytyke
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Haxbytyke (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 09:52
Almo, everything is fun in the York area, we don't even take the prediction league seriously.

1066

COME ON LEEDS.
We've been through it all together.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
opuscoitus (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 10:15
969 the number of the Australian numerically dyslexic beast

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
SFS (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 10:17
Was going to go for 980 but we had 4 season tickets which will not be renewed and not going to matches therefore 976.

Rebranded as ‘Yorkshire Carnegie’

 
TykeGeorge
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
TykeGeorge (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 14:32
Come on guys, a glass half-full 1664

 
Bobba
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Bobba (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 18:00
1111 Building contractors and / or demolition crews included

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 18:03
Great to see such an enthusiastic response to this thread but I would remind posters that guesses have to be in within 20 minutes of the KO, not 20 days!

 
yeldor
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
yeldor (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 18:40
Honestly no pleasing some cyclists .

sent off carried off never backed off

 
Bobba
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Bobba (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 20:23
1111 Building contractors and / or demolition crews included

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
22/08/2017 21:07
Seems to be an echo on Bobba posts today?????

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
23/08/2017 06:17
Quote:
almostatyke
Seems to be an echo on Bobba posts today?????

His legs must be full! (Sm126)

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
Tower
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Tower (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 14:30
971


Jul 15: St Swithun's body moved from his outdoor grave to an indoor shrine in the the Old Minster in Winchester against his expressed wishes – legend says this was accompanied by bad weather, from which the popular British weather lore proverb comes, that if it rains on Saint Swithun's day, 15 July, it will rain for 40 days and 40 nights

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 15:14

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 17:07
God forbid that we get crowds in excess of 2017 because interesting posts like Tower's above will become redundant.

(Sm100)(Sm100)(Sm100)

 
John R
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
John R (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 17:57
1499

Without any logical reason.............!

 
Bobba
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Bobba (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 18:56
Quote:
Wildwillie
Quote:
almostatyke
Seems to be an echo on Bobba posts today?????

His legs must be full! (Sm126)
Got to correct you there WW. It's only when they are empty that there is a chance of an echo!(Sm63)

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
27/08/2017 19:51

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Madtyke (IP Logged)
28/08/2017 11:59

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Gelbel (IP Logged)
29/08/2017 11:38
2112 - coz the meek will inherit the earth

 
Hornchurch
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Hornchurch (IP Logged)
30/08/2017 13:12
Trying to keep up.

This is one for us oldies.

785



King Offa first divided a pound of silver into 240 silver pennies

 
yorkie ba
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
yorkie ba (IP Logged)
30/08/2017 18:46
2240 One for the optomists

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
30/08/2017 20:07
Nice one yb. I would remind other optimists that the total capacity of the Carnegie Stand is 4550, of which 1844 can sit down.
Perhaps we can fill it against Bristol?

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Albert Fishwick (IP Logged)
30/08/2017 20:41
It's not a great proposition for visiting fans, really, is it? The beer's still@#$%&and now you can only watch from one end.

If I had all the money I've spent on drink ..... I'd spend it on drink.

 
Plumgarth40
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Plumgarth40 (IP Logged)
01/09/2017 18:54
1235



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017:09:01:18:58:07 by Plumgarth40.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
05/09/2017 05:21
This thread is still open.

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
12/09/2017 06:42
Five days left to get your entries in!

(Sm134)

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
JDH (IP Logged)
12/09/2017 17:31
1323

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Zandra YaPoI (IP Logged)
13/09/2017 08:13
1435.

I am working, @#$%&!

Zandra YaPoI
YaPoI - Yorkshire and Proud of It

'proficiscor in una'

 
RedcarTyke
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
RedcarTyke (IP Logged)
13/09/2017 19:45
1601

 
leeds_shark
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
leeds_shark (IP Logged)
15/09/2017 09:58
1642

Local Derby - Donny started well - people put off with the mayhem of students moving in to Headingley this weekend.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
18/09/2017 13:04
Official attendance = 2160

(Sm22)(Sm22)(Sm22)

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Albert Fishwick (IP Logged)
18/09/2017 13:24
They must have included the 700+ who were watching the internet stream at various times.

If I had all the money I've spent on drink ..... I'd spend it on drink.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Madtyke (IP Logged)
20/09/2017 20:41
Having watched the highlights I'm at a loss as to where they got that crowd number from, certainly the Carnegie stand was half empty

[www.arborfieldoldboys.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
21/09/2017 09:45
Quote:
Madtyke
Having watched the highlights I'm at a loss as to where they got that crowd number from, certainly the Carnegie stand was half empty

I think you have hit the nail on the head!

Capacity of Carnegie stand =4550

Half empty = 2275

Adjustment so it doesn't look a fiddle: say 2160

 
Bobba
Re: Guess the attendance competition preview
Bobba (IP Logged)
21/09/2017 11:09
Can't blame the club for exaggerating attendances. If the club won't do it, no one else will. Must think positive! No doubt there will be loads of positivity spoken by our illustrious leaders prior to the Pirates match!

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net
 

Yorkshire Carnegie Poll

How will we do this coming season

See results > Submit >>