rugbyunion
Latest News:

Week 11 preview


Ex Tyke & Titan

By WW
November 29 2017

This weekend the Championship reaches the halfway point in the season when the eleventh round of games is played. As usual there are some tasty fixtures on offer but the one which was historically a clash of the titans promises to be a bit of a damp squib as bottom club Rotherham visit the Emerald stadium.

Yorkshire Carnegie sits in sixth place in the table and the club will be looking for five points against winless Rotherham. Fixtures involving the clubs above us in the table could result in us moving up to fourth. That is if Bristol win at Donny and Jersey win on the road at Nottingham. If I had to bet my mortgage on it I would back us to be fifth by the end of the weekend.

There was a time, not too long ago, when Andre Bester's Rotherham team was the scourge of the championship. Tykes' ( as we were then known) coaches regularly tempted the Titans' best players up the M1 with the prospect of full time employment and a decent salary. Not least amongst them were Eirik Lund and Hendrie Fourie. Rotherham had a major turnout of players in the close season and brought Andy Key in to provide the knowledge to get the Titans back to their rightful place in the top four. Sadly for the dwindling band of supporters this has not happened yet. Last weekend Roth were beaten at home by London Scottish who now lead them in the league table by sixteen points. The Titans have no wins and only three bonus points to show for themselves at the halfway point.

So we can expect a massive home win on Sunday right? In theory the answer is yes. As everyone knows we do not always follow the script.  Last weekend we had a workmanlike win away at Jersey. We have also managed to lose two of our back three to injury, which is why we have drafted in the young lad from Bath for a month. We do have an experienced pack which will, I believe, keep the visitors front eight under pressure (assuming our lineout foibles have been sorted out) on Sunday . The first half will be close but the visitors will fade after the break and a home win by twenty points will be the result.

 

C'mon Tykes

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

TykesRugby.co.uk
Week 11 preview
TykesRugby.co.uk (IP Logged)
30/11/2017 07:47
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
01/12/2017 11:44
Team:

15. Chris Elder
14. George Watkins
13. Andy Forsyth
12. Tom Casson
11. Louis Brown
10. Pete Lucock
9. Will Homer
1. Marc Thomas
2. Joe Buckle
3. Charlie Beech
4. Jack Whetton
5 Mike Myerscough
6. Richard Beck
7. Richard Mayhew (c)
8. Ollie Stedman
16. Harry Newborn
17. Charlie Capps
18. James Thraves
19. Ben West
20. Josh Bainbridge
21. Fred Burdon
22. Darren Atkins

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
01/12/2017 12:31
Rotherham:

Titans: 15 Lee Millar, 14 Will Thomas, 13 Drew Cheshire, 12 Logan Tibbetts, 11 Ben Foley, 10 Caolan Ryan, 9 Rhodri Davies, 1 Toby Williams, 2 Luke Cole, 3 Matt Shields, 4 Matt Postlethwaite, 5 Byron Hodge, 6 Tom Calladine (Capt.), 7 Charlie Maddison, 8 Adam Peters.
Replacements: 16 Jonny Murphy, 17 Tom Williams, 18 Brandon Palmer, 19 James Lasis, 20 Tom Burns, 21 Jamie Cooke, 22 Wesley Hamilton.

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
01/12/2017 15:38
As J-Lo says on the offie, the team is virtually the same as last week but with Elder replacing Kirsty.
I expect our forwards to dominate this week, having passed a stern test against Jersey and then it is down to our make-do-and-mend backline to twist the bayonet.
J-Lo seems to be good at getting the best from a thin squad - it must be like keeping plates spinning on sticks.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
Wildwillie (IP Logged)
01/12/2017 16:31
The backs are not that make do and mend. Casson and Forsyth are both experienced centres. Pete Lucock is doing OK at 10.

Nice to have Eric & the Bath lad on the bench - expect Atkins to run riot when the Roth backs tire.

(Sm134)

[allottie.blogspot.co.uk]

[www.northernpubs.co.uk]

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
almostatyke (IP Logged)
01/12/2017 18:21
Sorry to interrupt your thread, WW. And BTW it is not Eric but "Right Said Fred".

(Sm161)


SERIOUS EDIT: WW is doing these previews to fulfill the "one published story per fortnight rule". Surely someone else can offer support?



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2017:12:01:18:39:04 by almostatyke.

 
MESSAGES->author
Re: Week 11 preview
JDH (IP Logged)
02/12/2017 08:38
We have seen Roth upset us numerous times so we need to be on the money Sunday.

Fourie... what a player. Awesome.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net
 

Yorkshire Carnegie Poll

How will we do this coming season

See results > Submit >>