Latest news:

Salary Cap review - Have your say


By Saint Ted
January 31 2020

Lord Myners Salary cap review has begun and you can have your say on it.

Lord Myner has begun his review into the premiership salary cap and has opened it up to the floor.

To have your say go to Myners Review

Key dates...

30 January 2020: Online consultation goes live

20 February 2020: Online consultation closes

From 10 February 2020: Interview with stakeholders (subject to their written feedback)

End April 2020: Myners Review published

This thread is about the salary cap and what needs to be changed NOT SARACENS, so lets try and keep it constructive, pop your 'they should be relegated a million divisions and flogged in public' comments in the sarries thread please, keep this one inline so more people can get involved.

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Salary Cap review - Have your say
Discussion started by Marching On , 31/01/2020 08:07
Marching On
31/01/2020 08:07
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2020:01:31:08:07:39 by Saint Ted.

Which Tyler
01/02/2020 10:35
Gone through it now - the points I made were:

PRL should have the right to force a forensic audit in the event of a significant breach (or reason for suspicion for active cheating) - not have to enter what's essentially a plea bargain, whereby Sarries opted to take relegation instead. Noncompliance results in expulsion from PRL and the league structure - apply to RFU for permission to rejoin at the bottom.

Independent investigators (such as Lord Dyson) should have the right to demand players' tax returns (I don't know if this would form part of a "normal" forensic audit). Devil's in the detail for definition of "connected party".

All monies from club (or connected party) to player (or connected party) to be considered as salary unless explicitly exempted in the regulations (so ANYTHING new or dodgy is considered within the cap until discussed; no leeway for creativity).

Given the stepped arrangements for fines (0.50 per 1; 1 per 1; 3 per 1) the steps should not stop at 350k - I suggested 5 per 1 for >350k; 10 per 1 for >1M.

There should be no upper limit for points deductions (currently 5 points per 50k over 350 (starting at 5 points); but maximum of 35 points); just keep on going at 5 points per 50k. Currently a 650k breach gets the same deduction as a 2M breach!

Breaches over multiple years should result on sanctions (well points deductions) over multiple years (neither combined nor concurrent for 1 year).

Breaches under the current 350k limit are dealt with the same way as currently - but with a statement saying that a club has transgressed; but not (necessarily) by how much.



To take the Saracens example (breaches of 1,100k; 98k and 906k)
2016-17 would have resulted in a fine of (25k+100k+600k+3250k+1000k) 4,975k and a points deduction of 80 points
2017-18 would have resulted in a fine of (25k+48k) 73k
2018-19 would have resulted in a fine of (25k+100k+600k+2780k) 3,505k and a points deduction of 60 points

Fines all payable now, first (80) points deducted this year; second (60) points deduction next year (at whatever level they're playing) all to have been applied as of November 2019.
Current season's breach to be calculated at the end of the season when it's known how large the breach.

Further punishment for not opening up the books mid-season as was part of the deal struck in November - well, PRL decided on 70 point deduction, but I'd have preferred something like "all league points earned are voided" so ending up the season on -80 - though I'd rather PRL had the right to force the forensic audit, rather than having to compromise with a plea deal.


Of course, I'd be making those the rules, and applying them henceforth, NOT retrospectively (which is where PRL have @#$%& me off).

A man who cannot change his mind, cannot change anything
RAEBURN SHIELD

StBleach
05/02/2020 15:10
Any points deficit the end of the season should be carried forward to the next season..

Wilson Pickett
05/02/2020 16:08
Any chairman found guilty should be banned from the game permanently

Sans Culottes
05/02/2020 16:53
All players and their agents required to agree and sign off the salary cap declaration made in respect to that player.

Gwendoline
13/02/2020 15:37
I would advise against being too prescriptive. The tighter the rules the easier they are to evade.

The principle is that the squad shall not cost more than x in total during the season.
Cost shall include any form of reward to players or anyone connected to them at any time.
All clubs must submit to a full independent audit at any time without notice.
Any failure to report or material inaccuracy of reporting shall be treated as a breach of the cap.

Then list the penalties.

Sans Culottes
13/02/2020 16:11
Players and their agents to sign off on the club's declarations in regard to payments ( anything that falls under salary cap) to that player.

Sanctions for player and agent as well as the club for failure to declare anything that might be construed to be "salary".

Saint Stokey
14/02/2020 09:44
I would like to see some sort of ruling about how much a club can spend beyond its means. There needs to be something in place to prevent a sugar daddy bank rolling a club, then getting bored and taking his money with him, meaning the the club has no choice but to fold.

I have no idea how much Wray has pumped into the club but lets assume its 30m. Should he leave, how to the club foot that bill? If they can't what happens to the club then? Something needs to be in place to protect this.

I don't know whether its a Salary Cap issue or a sustainability agreement.

Which Tyler
14/02/2020 09:49
Quote:
Saint Stokey
I would like to see some sort of ruling about how much a club can spend beyond its means. There needs to be something in place to prevent a sugar daddy bank rolling a club, then getting bored and taking his money with him, meaning the the club has no choice but to fold.
I have no idea how much Wray has pumped into the club but lets assume its 30m. Should he leave, how to the club foot that bill? If they can't what happens to the club then? Something needs to be in place to protect this.

I don't know whether its a Salary Cap issue or a sustainability agreement.
http://www.rugbyrebels.co/board/download/file.php?id=267

Saint Stokey
14/02/2020 10:04
errr.... thanks Hask/ Which Tyler?

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net