Latest news:

Preview: Albion v Cambridge - 22 Feb


By Igwok
February 14 2020

The visit of Cambridge to Brickfields will now be held this weekend - 22nd February.

Cambridge currently lie 3 points and 2 places above Albion in the league so an opportunity for Albion to move up the table. Cambridge, are likely to have another result in mind having put together 7 wins out of their last 8 matches, albeit against teams from the lower half of the table.
 
Albion must be smarting from 2 defeats on the road and will be looking to put together some good results before encountering some tougher fixures towards the backend of the season.
 
The backs have provided the vast majority of their 77 tries this season, and fairly evenly spread amongst them, although the Centre Matthew Hema has collected 13 to date, closely followed by the winger, James Martin, with 12.
 
Defensively, they are fairly tight having allowed 66 tries, fairly equally between forwards and backs. Also, Cambridge have incurred 18 cards this season - second only Mosely. High probablity then that Albion should have a numbers advantage at some point.
 
Weatherwise we can gentle to moderate breeze winds with a strong probability of rain, remaining mild.
 
Game forecast - Albion to win, but continuing poor conditions could result in a low scoring game.

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

Preview: Albion v Cambridge - 2pm
Discussion started by Unofficial Plymouth Albion (IP Logged), 14/02/2020 19:44
Unofficial Plymouth Albion
Unofficial Plymouth Albion
14/02/2020 19:44
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Cynical Sid
Cynical Sid
14/02/2020 19:52
Game off. Referee / RFU decision

Igwok - overseas
Igwok - overseas
14/02/2020 20:06
Report was written a couple of days ago - intermittent Internet here.

MESSAGES->author
Dewnansek
15/02/2020 12:30
Albion not the only game postponed.

Cinderford and Sale home matches also postponed.

The others seem to be on (at the moment).

I wonder how tbe RFU made their ruling. Was it based on the pitch condition or was it simply the weather forecast?

MESSAGES->author
BALION PREDATOR
15/02/2020 13:16
pitch inspection / player welfare .



(Sm72)

Plymouth Bred , Plymouth Born .

C'mon Albiiioooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

MESSAGES->author
Dewnansek
16/02/2020 13:28
Possible reschedule for NEXT Saturday (22 Feb)?

stonehousealbion
stonehousealbion
17/02/2020 14:13
Confirmed for 22 Feb - with same timings as last Sat.

Come cheer up, my lads - 'tis to glory we steer!

Igwok - overseas
Igwok - overseas
18/02/2020 01:48
Preview updated - not much changed.

Not so windy!

MESSAGES->author
noibla
18/02/2020 12:00
Not much else will be different though will it, but at least we will get the game done. Good luck the boys.

Commando joe
Commando joe
18/02/2020 13:03
Heard some of the players are not available for replay due to arrangements made for the free weekend 🤔🤔

MESSAGES->author
Dewnansek
20/02/2020 00:21
Sounds plausible.

Possibly more so for Cambridge as their travel would take more time out of their weekend.

stonehousealbion
stonehousealbion
21/02/2020 09:30
Team and preview from:

PARFC Official

Windy and some rain overnight, but pretty good overall for the game tomorrow.

Come cheer up, my lads - 'tis to glory we steer!

MESSAGES->author
Dewnansek
21/02/2020 13:09
Not much change from the team announced for last week.

Dean Squire is the only one missing from tbe starting IV, repaced by Josh Skelcey (with a small shuffle).

Cam Setter the only bench sitter from last weeks team who is missing this.

Looks a pretter strong team to me.

Cambridge will not announce their team until tomorrow so we don't yet know what changes there.

Albifan20
Albifan20
22/02/2020 12:16
hoping for a good win this afternoon. come on albi

Forwards win games, backs decide by how much Come on Albion!!!!

MESSAGES->author
Dewnansek
22/02/2020 13:16
Cambridge team announced

[www.crufc.co.uk]

The week delay has meant that one player (Peck), who was unavailable due to injury last week, can now play. Another player (Baxter), who Cambridge hoped would also have recovered from injury, has not been named in the squad.

Come on Albion!

Your Name: 
Subject: 
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing abuse@sportnetwork.net