Unofficial England Rugby Union
England v Argentina - 2019 Rugby World Cup - Pool C
By RugbyFan
October 4 2019

England face Argentina on Saturday with a great deal on the line as well as a great deal of expectation from England fans.  The Referee has been replace for this match, we now have Nigel Owens.  Fine by me!

Rugby World Cup 2019 - Japan

England v Argentina

Saturday 5 October Tokyo Stadium,  KO: 09:00 BST  

England are looking for a quarter final place  but the nightmare of the last world cup will  no doubt be lingering with them when they knocked out in the group stage.   England lead Pool C with a full 10 points, but they will not be taking anything for granted.  

Jones has once again gone for Farrell at inside centre with his old friend George Ford starting at 10.  And the same line-up as the one that flawed Ireland at Twickenham in the warm up game except for Anthony Watson on the wing, it is a settled look for England, Tom Curry and Sam Underhill once again paired in the back row as Jones looks for quick ball and a fast-tempo game.


Argentina's coach Mario Ledesma watches his players warm up - All Pictures paimages

 Argentina must win to have any hope at all. It is why Ledesma is calling Saturday's game his own side's World Cup final. 

 Jones said: "They've always had a strong forward pack, and they've changed their approach a little bit to be more of a phase team, and selecting a left-footer at 10 suggests they're going to play a high-kicking game.

"They were brilliant in 2007. I can remember being with the South African team that met them in the semi-final, and they were a tough team to beat. But like any side they have weaknesses, and we intend to expose those weaknesses."


England: Daly; Watson, Tuilagi, Farrell, May; Ford, B Youngs; Marler, George, Sinckler, Itoje, Kruis, Curry, Underhill, B Vunipola.

Replacements: Cowan-Dickie, M Vunipola, Cole, Lawes, Ludlam, Heinz, Slade, Nowell.

Argentina: Boffelli; Moroni, Orlando, De La Fuente, Carreras; Urdapilleta, Cubelli; Chaparro, Montoya, Figallo, Pagadizabal, Lavanini, Matera, Kremer, Desio.

Replacements: Creevy, Vivas, Medrano, Alemanno, Lezana, Ezcurra, Mensa, Delguy.


Referee: Nigel Owens