Unofficial England Rugby Union
England U18s team named to play Georgia in AER Tournament
By Kath
April 5 2009

ENGLAND'S Under-18 AER side will attempt to play with width to overcome Georgia's expected forward threat in the opening match of the Association Europeenne de Rugby Tournament in Hyeres near Toulon on Sunday April 5 (2.30pm GMT). HENRY Staff has been appointed captain of the England Under-18 AER team


England U18s Team to play Georgia in AER Tournament 

HENRY Staff has been appointed captain of the England Under-18 AER team for their opening match in this season's competition against Georgia at Hyeres near Toulon on April 5 (2.30pm GMT).

Staff, of Bedford Modern School, Saracens and Hertfordshire, takes over the captaincy from Mike Wilcox who led the side to victory against Japan High Schools in Plymouth two weeks ago.

Staff is one of only three players who began against Japan who are in the starting line-up for the Georgia match.

Wilcox has been named as one of the eleven replacements, seven of whom may be used, for the AER (Association Europeenne de Rugby) opener with Tom Heathcote starting at fly-half..

Lock Kieran Low, who missed the Japan High Schools match because of a hand injury, will be England's vice-captain on Sunday.

Scrum-half Chris Cook will also win his first cap having missed the Japan game because of an ankle injury.

England's starting line-up includes flanker Oliver Robinson who is the son of former England flanker and head coach Andy, who is now director of rugby of Edinburgh.

England are bidding to regain the AER title after a three-year absence and will play the winners of the Ireland v Russia game in Hyeres on April 8 if they beat Georgia.

The AER Tournament involves 32 teams from across Europe who are divided in to four groups. England, who finished third last season, are in the top group.

If England beat Georgia on Sunday they will meet the winners of the Ireland v Russia game in the semi-finals in Hyeres next Wednesday.


15 Ben Ransom (Tonbridge School, Saracens and Kent);

14 Marland Yarde (Whitgift School, London Irish and Middlesex),

13 Ben Mosses (Millfield School, Bath and Somerset),

12 Henry Staff (Bedford Modern School, Saracens and Hertfordshire - captain),

11 Will Jones (Henley College, London Wasps and Oxfordshire);

10 Tom Heathcote (Bishop Wordsworth's, Bath and Dorset & Wiltshire),

9 Chris Cook (Millfield School, Bath and Somerset);

1 Louis Padian (Bromsgrove School, Moseley, Worcester Warriors and North Midlands),

2 Josh Elliott (Dulwich College, Old Alleynians, London Wasps and Surrey),

3 Chris Fox (Bromsgrove School, Worcester Warriors and North Midlands),

4 Kieron Low (Havant College, Chichester and Sussex),

5 Matthew Steele (Dame Alice Owen School, Saracens and Hertfordshire),

6 David Francis (Twyford C of E High School, London Wasps and Middlesex),

7 Oliver Robinson (Prior Park College, Bath and Somerset),

8 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Sixth Form College, Worcester Warriors and North Midlands).

Replacements: Matt Keyte (Dulwich College, Bath and Surrey), Alex Lewington (Nottingham HS and Leicester Tigers), Anders Mogensen (Millfield School and Northampton Saints), Sam Stanley (Oaklands College, Saracens and Essex), Mike Wilcox (St Peter's RC HS, Gloucester and Gloucestershire), Will Collier (Cranleigh School, Harlequins and Surrey), Harry Hannan (Woodhouse Grove School, Leeds Carnegie and Yorkshire), Joe Launchbury (Christ's Hospital School, Harlequins and Sussex), Simon McIntyre (St Bedes School, Broughton Park, Sale Sharks and Lancashire), Chris Walker (Prince Henry's GS, Leeds Carnegie and Yorkshire), Liam Wilkinson (St Peter's Sixth Form Centre, Gloucester and Gloucestershire).