Latest News:

England v SA Northern Baa Baas - 19/6/12

By Kath
June 18 2012

England team to face SA Northern Baa Baas -  Tuesday, June 19 Profert Olën Park, Potchestroom - 19.10 (17.10 GMT)

England Midweek Team to Face  SA Northern Barbarians


Stuart Lancaster has made six changes from last week's midweek side.  Ugo Monye being joined in the back-line by Lee Dickson at scrum half in place of Danny Care, Nick Abendanon taking over from Alex Goode at full back and Christian Wade switching to the right wing for George Lowe.

 Ugo Monye, England

Ugo Monye -Picture Empics

In the pack, Tom Youngs gets his first tour start at hooker instead of Joe Gray, as does Jamie Gibson for James Haskell, while Ben Morgan comes in at No 8 for Thomas Waldrom. Karl Dickson, fresh into the squad as an injury replacement for Ben Youngs, will be on the bench.


England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We have talked today about finishing the tour strongly this week and these players have a great opportunity to do this in the second of the two midweek games. There are still selection decisions to be made for Saturday but the players’ focus will be on putting in a strong cohesive team performance and building on the positives from last week, but also learning the lessons.

“Ugo is the only player yet to have any game time and I am delighted that he will have a run out to cap what has been a fantastic club season for him. It’s also great to have Jonny May and Karl Dickson here and I am looking forward to seeing how they perform.”



SA Barbarians (North): 15 JC Roos, 14 Danwel Demas, 13 JW Jonker (captain), 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 Deon Scholtz, 10 Coenie van Wyk ,9 Shaun Venter, 8 Nicky Steyn, 7 MB Lusaseni, 6 Jaco Bouwer, 5 Rudi Mathee, 4 Eduan van der Walt, 3 Ashley Buys ,2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 BG Uys.
Replacements: 16 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 17 Zane Kilian, 18 Boela Serfontein, 19 Martin Sithole, 20 Johann Laker, 21 Hoffman Maritz, 22 Tertius Maarman.


England: Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby); Christian Wade (London Wasps), Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints); Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), George Robson (capt, Harlequins), Jamie Gibson (London Irish), Carl Fearns (Bath Rugby), Ben Morgan (Scarlets). 

Replacements: Joe Gray (Harlequins), Rupert Harden (Gloucester Rugby), Mouritz Botha, (Saracens), James Haskell (Otago Highlanders), Karl Dickson (Harlequins), David Strettle (Saracens), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby).

Referee: Mark Lawrence

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:

England v SA Northern Baa Baas - 19/6/12
Unofficial England Rugby Union (IP Logged)
18/06/2012 16:54
What do you think? You can have your say by posting below.
If you do not already have an account Click here to Register.

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
We record all IP addresses on the Sportnetwork message boards which may be required by the authorities in case of defamatory or abusive comment. We seek to monitor the Message Boards at regular intervals. We do not associate Sportnetwork with any of the comments and do not take responsibility for any statements or opinions expressed on the Message Boards. If you have any cause for concern over any material posted here please let us know as soon as possible by e-mailing